9 Replies - 3237 Views - Last Post: 04 February 2011 - 10:25 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

when do you know you are "good" enough for a job

Posted 03 February 2011 - 09:52 PM

I am a new programmer and I was just wondering...how long does it take and when will you know that you are skilled enough in a programming language (or 2 or...) to be paid for it.

I am a new computer science student and I am taking my first c++ class. By the end of the year I hope to have taken an advanced C++ class, data structures, discrete math and assembly.

Just curious.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: when do you know you are "good" enough for a job

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: when do you know you are "good" enough for a job

Posted 04 February 2011 - 06:10 AM

In any job you get there will be an expected learning curve, especially if you get an internship. You can almost never say you know everything you need to know walking into a job, but you can have enough background and be resourceful enough to figure it out. That's part of a programmer's job, and why people with computer science degrees are often referred to as engineers, because our job is about figuring out how to do stuff.
I'm in my graduation year and there's still a ton I don't know about programming and software development, but I feel confident that I am able to figure out a lot of stuff on my own, or with the help of google and DIC and my coworkers. I guess when you feel like that you'll be ready to get into the industry.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 04 February 2011 - 07:30 AM

Here's one way to gauge your ability to earn a living at this.
Watch the contracts going out for bid. How many of them could you fulfil? Of the ones you can do, how long will it take you? Now look at the pay. Can you earn a living at that? If a $100 job would take you 3 days, then plan on being hungry.