10 Replies - 3652 Views - Last Post: 14 February 2011 - 01:43 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Getting started with either Java or C#

Post icon  Posted 13 February 2011 - 01:34 PM

POPULAR

Hey. I just found this place doing a google search and it looks like the most active programming forum I can find.

So, here's my issue. I'm not a programmer. I've used VB6.0 since maybe 1999/2000, and I've really just mucked around with it and had fun. I took one beginner course in computer programming (we used Java a bit) which was really just the basic ideas of programming - what's a loop, a variable, syntax, recognizing errors, snippets of code that we had to figure out what it would do; but not in an actual language, but more in syntax terms.

So. I have some background with programming. I get the basic things, what a variable is, loops, if statements, etc - although I never got far enough to use classes or objects, those always confuse the crap out of me. As for variables, I always just created global variables because I could not figure out why I'd want to hide it, instead of just being able to alter and read it any time I wanted to. I'm also used to to just plopping down a control and writing code in it, which you don't do with Java - heck, I wouldn't know how to make a simple button.

Now I'm at the point where I'd like to jump back into a little bit. My learning time is limited with 2 kids and full time work, but I've decided that C# or Java looks like a good language to learn. I only have time to learn one, and I just want to learn how to properly program, and in the end work on some little ideas I have.