2 Replies - 399 Views - Last Post: 17 February 2011 - 01:23 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

linux command line programming using pipeline

Posted 16 February 2011 - 05:25 AM

Hello all,

I have this, maybe, silly question for you.

I have a project where I am supposed to use a webpage. This page is having a textbox where I am supposed to give a sentence (text), as input, and press a submit button to have the results that I am looking for. My problem is that I have to do all that through linux command line, using pipeline. Do you think that this can be done? I am not experienced at linux so while looking for information related to what I have to do I found the curl command but this one returns the page source code. Do you have something to suggest / recommend on how I should go on dealing with that issue?

Thank you in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: linux command line programming using pipeline

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Re: linux command line programming using pipeline

Posted 17 February 2011 - 01:14 PM

The wording of this makes it seem as though you are required to do this for a class or a job, or perhaps trying to learn a few things in hopes to "hack" something. Why is it that you are required to do this in such a way?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: linux command line programming using pipeline

Posted 17 February 2011 - 01:23 PM

I agree with -=m0n1k3r=-, if this were a school or work (legitimate) project you would most likely have an actual source, & thus you could use $_GET values in the url, or even an API for the website. But since you specified that you are required to do this from the Linux Command line, I too, can only imagine that the intent of this project is malicious in nature.

** Topic Closed **

** Edit **