delete record

help with deleting a record

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 38463 Views - Last Post: 08 February 2007 - 05:18 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

delete record

Posted 07 December 2006 - 12:53 AM

hi, i've been having trouble with deleting a record in a database. i'm very new to adodb, so i dont know much. welps.. this is what i have so far:

Private Sub cmdDelete_Click()

Dim MyConn As adodb.Connection
Dim rs As adodb.Recordset

Set MyConn = New adodb.Connection
MyConn.ConnectionString = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=d:\List1.mdb;"
MyConn.Open

If MsgBox("Are you sure you want to delete this record?", vbYesNo + vbQuestion, "Delete?") = vbNo Then 'check if you really want to delete this record
Exit Sub
Else

With MyConn
.BeginTrans
.Execute "DELETE FROM List1 WHERE OrigTitle = '" & ListView1.ListItems.Item(ListView1.SelectedItem.Index)
.CommitTrans
End With

End If

rs.Close
Set rs = Nothing

how come this doesnt work? i get an error saying Syntax error in string query expression 'OrigTitle = 'whatever'. where 'whatever' is what the user selects in the first column of the ListView.

it then points to:
.Execute "DELETE FROM List1 WHERE OrigTitle = '" & ListView1.ListItems.Item(ListView1.SelectedItem.Index)

so can anybody help me out with this? or give any other advise on how to delete a record? many thanks in advance for your help!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: delete record

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: delete record

Posted 07 December 2006 - 01:50 AM

Think you might need to add a bit at the end

.Execute "DELETE FROM List1 WHERE OrigTitle = '" & ListView1.ListItems.Item(ListView1.SelectedItem.Index) & "'"
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:50 PM

View Post2much2young, on 7 Dec, 2006 - 01:50 AM, said:

Think you might need to add a bit at the end