7 Replies - 693 Views - Last Post: 23 February 2011 - 11:42 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

AJAX and Security

Posted 23 February 2011 - 10:11 AM

Greetings Everyone:

I am a php programmer, who is trying to use more ajax. I have the principles of AJAX down; however, now I have come across some problems. My major one is how do programmers deal with security. Lets say so simplicity sakes, I am building a page that has a textarea that dynamically saves to the database. My problem is, if I were to do something on large scale, say a customer lookup for sales report.

Now, a normal AJAX request would be something like:

xmlhttp.open("GET","salesinfo.php?customer="+x,true);

Where x would be the customer's name or user id, etc. So, now anyone can would be able to go that page, and go through any customer's they know and get the report as well. How do I build AJAX, yet not have any one able to get other's info?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: AJAX and Security

• 痛覚残留
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: AJAX and Security

Posted 23 February 2011 - 11:04 AM

send some kind of verification code along in the query (hm, maybe it automaticly sends the cookies, so you can check in $_COOKIE). similar to the "permanently logged in" feature.

but to be honest, an AJAX request is not different from a browser request, so the same mechanics apply.

This post has been edited by Dormilich: 23 February 2011 - 11:05 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 23 February 2011 - 11:09 AM

Hi Frank,

No, as it is, there is nothing in your system that would prevent someone from retrieving the info of any customer. And to my knowledge, there is no easy way to prevent it.

But I have an idea. As it is, to retrieve the info, you only supply the customer id number. But what if you also had to supply another number, a verification number (sort of like a password), like this: