3 Replies - 1688 Views - Last Post: 03 April 2002 - 10:57 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 WebDevTool  Icon User is offline


Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: -8,388,608
  • Joined: 27-February 02

OK, here's a riddle, of sorts...

Posted 24 March 2002 - 02:20 PM

Here's the situation:

I am building a tool to help me experiment with my DB. It is 4 web pages that I have on my localhost.

The first page allows selection of one of the DB on my system, and allows entry of SQL query. It looks like this:

Posted Image

Then you go off to back-end (2nd page) and pull the RS.

When you come back (3rd, and Main page) you have an RS; looks like this:

Posted Image

The last page should use the commands within the ASP Entry text box to manipulate the RS, and allow Response.Write output (either I force something out, or I just type it into the ASP txtbox). Subsequent actions will return to the 3rd main page with the RS output first, then the ASP should run and output, then the textboxes again.

I am not having any trouble passing the data around, what I CAN'T do is force the ASP to actually RUN. I have been close, splitting parts up like writing: ... <" & "% ... to the document to avoid confusing outputs.

I can put the ASP on the page... I've seen it thru View Source. It's there, in the right place, but it doesn't execute.

Is this even possible? It's not a high priority, but it would make debug & experimenting around a LOT easier...


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: OK, here's a riddle, of sorts...

#2 WebDevTool  Icon User is offline


Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: -8,388,608
  • Joined: 27-February 02

Re: OK, here's a riddle, of sorts...

Posted 02 April 2002 - 11:18 AM

*Bump*
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Cookie Mobster  Icon User is offline

  • nooneenooneenooonee
  • member icon

Reputation: 7
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,730
  • Joined: 12-October 01

Re: OK, here's a riddle, of sorts...

Posted 02 April 2002 - 02:12 PM

I would think that you would have to add it to the source of the original script and then re-exacute the script, it isn't going to work the way you want it to. Might I suggest that you create a temporary script add the asp code to it and then run the script in an iframe from your main page.

Cheers Sam :)

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 WebDevTool  Icon User is offline


Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: -8,388,608
  • Joined: 27-February 02

Re: OK, here's a riddle, of sorts...

Posted 03 April 2002 - 10:57 AM

Good answer! I suppose there's not THAT much re-working involved...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1