What language to learn?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 3072 Views - Last Post: 26 March 2007 - 08:55 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What language to learn?

Posted 09 December 2006 - 03:04 PM

I'm really interested in learning to program, although I have no previous experience so far. I tried reading "Beginning Programming for Dummies" by Wallace Wang, but got stuck after a while--didn't seem like a very clear book. Anyways, I want to try again, though I don't know what language to learn as a first language. Can anyone suggest a good beginning language?
I would likely be it using for:
Just general programming random stuff for fun
I plan to be an astrophysicist, so I guess whatever I would be doing in regards to using stuff related to that (processing info, or whatever)-however it would come in handy there
Maybe some games for fun later on
I would assume that I could always learn or move to other languages after I've got one down--to cover something more specific that I might want to do.
That's about it, thanks for any help, and remeber I don't know any programming yet!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What language to learn?

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What language to learn?

Posted 09 December 2006 - 04:58 PM