Tic Tac Toe using 2D array

• (2 Pages)
  • +

18 Replies - 11466 Views - Last Post: 27 February 2011 - 02:36 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Tic Tac Toe using 2D array

Posted 25 February 2011 - 10:47 PM

I am very new to programming. I have been working on this project for days and completely stuck.
I was able to display 3x3 gameboard with *, assign player 1-X palyer 2-O taking turns to place their marks. I don't know how to use bool to end game with one of the player WIN or TIE.
Please point me to the right direction.

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

void showBoard(void);
void playerInput(int p);
void checkWinner();
void nextPlayer(int);

int board[3][3]={{0,0,0},{0,0,0},{0,0,0}};

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
	int r;
	int c;
	int player;
	int winner;
	int turns;
 	cout << "******* Tic Tac Toe Game *******" << endl;

showBoard();
	nextPlayer(1);
	return 0;
}

void showBoard(void)
{
	int r;
	int c;

cout << endl << endl;
	cout <<"\tColumns\n";
	cout <<"\t123\n";

for(r=0; r<=2; r++)
	{	
		cout <<"Row " << (r+1) << ": ";
		for(c=0; c<=2; c++)
		{
			if( board [r][c]==0)
				cout << "* ";
			else if (board [r][c]==1)
				cout << "X ";
			else 
				cout << "O ";
		}
		cout << endl;
	}
}

void playerInput(int p)
{
	int row;
	int col;

if(p==1)
		cout <<"\nPlayer 1, place X mark in the game board\n\n";
	else 
		cout <<"\nPlayer 2, place O mark in the game board\n\n";

cout <<"Enter Row ";
	cin >> row;
	cout <<"Enter Column ";
	cin >> col;

if(p==1)
		board[--row][--col]=1;
	if(p==2)
		board[--row][--col]=2;
}

void checkWinner()
{
	int winner;
	for (int i=0; i<=2; i++)
	{
		if(board[i][0]==board[i][1] && board[i][1]==board[i][2] && board[i][0]!=0)
		{
			winner=board[i][0];
		}
	}

for(int i=0; i<=2; i++)
	{
		if(board[0][i]==board[1][i] && board[1][i]==board[2][i] && board[0][i]!=0)
		{
			winner=board[0][i];
		}
	}

if(board[0][0]=board[1][1] && board[1][1]==board[2][2] && board[0][0]!=0)
	{