5 Replies - 1951 Views - Last Post: 02 March 2011 - 08:13 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

What's the signifigance of the colon in XAML

Posted 01 March 2011 - 04:13 PM

I'm very new to WPF. I'm proficient at C#, yet I'm having trouble making sense of all the xaml stuff. What do colons mean? I just downloaded another new wpf tutorial and this one has seemingly random colons strewn about, and I can't even copy and paste the code from that project into another one with out running into an error (Error 1 The tag 'StatusList' does not exist in XML namespace 'clr-namespace:SalesForce'.).

Here's the working code:

<Window x:Class="ComboBoxDGWPF.Window1"
    xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation"
    xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml"
    Title="ComboBox DataGrid WPF" Height="300" Width="616"
    xmlns:staticData="clr-namespace:ComboBoxDGWPF"
    xmlns:my="http://schemas.microsoft.com/wpf/2008/toolkit">

<window.Resources>
        <staticData:StatusList x:Key="StatusList"/>
    </window.Resources>

<Grid>
        <my:DataGrid x:Name="dgData" AutoGenerateColumns="False">

So first off, what does "x:Class=" mean? And what about when we see "x:Name=" or "x:Key" or "xmlns:x" (the x is on the other side, what's going on here?)??

Second, what's the deal with the "my:" prescript? I can't seem to use it in my own solutions, and I can't figure out where to define it correctly. The full source can be downloaded from here if interested.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What's the signifigance of the colon in XAML

• The Leafiest of the Leif's
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What's the signifigance of the colon in XAML

Posted 01 March 2011 - 04:17 PM

From what I can gather about XAML, the ':' operand is a lot like using '.' in C#... Don't take my word for it though.

[Edit] It the ':' is prefixing.