10 Replies - 6304 Views - Last Post: 08 March 2011 - 11:06 PM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

What's The Real Impact Certifications Have?

Posted 01 March 2011 - 10:42 PM

Well, I have wanted to get a few certifications for a while, but I don't know how much impact they when you are looking for a job in the real world. I am currently a first-semester student, and I have considered to get certifications in 2008 - Due to some limitations, I couldn't get them.

I have looked to all kinds of certifications, hell, even the "most paid ones" when I am not a money fan. Certifications look like a nice thing to have, and based on what other people say, it's really good to have them. Of course, they always help you stand out a bit more than other applicants when you are looking for a job, but what's the REAL impact they have? Would it be worth to get some in the next four years while I study at college? I will really appreciate your answers. If you have any experiences, please share.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 2
  • +

Replies To: What's The Real Impact Certifications Have?

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What's The Real Impact Certifications Have?

Posted 01 March 2011 - 11:11 PM

Certifications are all based on their respect in the industry and their relevance to the individual company you are applying for. Obviously a certification in Microsoft Software means crap to a company which is dealing in nothing but Linux machines. Look around the industry or companies you want to work for. What certifications do they look for or think are relevant to them? Heck, give them a call and ask if they consider certifications of value to them and which ones they like applicants to have.

As for respect, if a no name company on the internet starts giving out tens of thousands of certs based off a 20 multiple choice test it isn't going to hold much weight to bigger companies.