4 Replies - 2415 Views - Last Post: 15 March 2011 - 01:13 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 QxQ  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 09-March 11

speech to text in python (mac)

Posted 14 March 2011 - 08:00 PM

I know that a mac has a speech to text library but I can't figure out how to call it. I have already used the text to speech program, but it's a program, not a library. I have been using this kind of code
subprocess.call(['say','testing'])
but it doesn't work for calling a library. if someone could help me, that would be great. :D

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: speech to text in python (mac)

#2 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 5954
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,217
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: speech to text in python (mac)

Posted 15 March 2011 - 07:27 AM

Try providing the full path to "say". /usr/bin/say.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 QxQ  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 09-March 11

Re: speech to text in python (mac)

Posted 15 March 2011 - 10:17 AM

it says that this is it's path: /System/Library/Frameworks/AppKit.framework
event with that path, this line of code doesn't work
subprocess.call('/System/Library/Frameworks/AppKit.framework/NSObject')

I'm getting my info from http://developer.app.../Reference.html
what am I doing wrong?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 JackOfAllTrades  Icon User is offline

  • Saucy!
  • member icon

Reputation: 5954
  • View blog
  • Posts: 23,217
  • Joined: 23-August 08

Re: speech to text in python (mac)

Posted 15 March 2011 - 11:48 AM

Worked fine for me with /usr/bin/say on Snow Leopard.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 QxQ  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 09-March 11

Re: speech to text in python (mac)

Posted 15 March 2011 - 01:13 PM

View PostJackOfAllTrades, on 15 March 2011 - 06:48 PM, said:

Worked fine for me with /usr/bin/say on Snow Leopard.

oh...
I figured out what's wrong, I'm being blocked from the area I'm trying to run. I work on a computer isued by my school, so I don't have permission to access that class in the subprocess. :sleepy:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1