Future plans

• (2 Pages)
  • +

16 Replies - 1363 Views - Last Post: 22 March 2011 - 01:10 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Future plans

Posted 18 March 2011 - 04:55 PM

I am in that time of life where I start thinking seriously about what I am going to be after I have finished my studies. I am 17 years old and am just about to transfer from community college (next quarter is my last! woot2!). I am taking computer science as my major and I love3x programming and math. A LOT. I am also an self-taught programmer and love to learn new stuffs. I learn mobile development, applets, JOGL, and basically things that allow me to create "cooler" programs.
However, I am completely clueless about what kind of programming I am going to do later in life. My parents want me to set up my own company, and I understand that having computer science as a major has already set me up in the wrong direction. Or am I wrong?
I would really appreciate it if anyone can give me his opinions on this matter, may it be about what programming topics to cover, whether or not I should go for a PHD, etc.
I realize that I sounded naive, thinking that I can start my business, but please just give me anything you think any student in my position should know about making these huge decisions.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Future plans

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Future plans

Posted 18 March 2011 - 05:10 PM

Moved to Student Campus.

Programming languages change. The concepts stay the same. Regarding degrees, we get this question a lot. Is a computer science degree useful? Absolutely. The theory is pretty valuable in designing efficient solutions. In contrast, there are a number of members on DIC without a computer science degree (or a degree at all) that are quite good at programming.