10 Replies - 1452 Views - Last Post: 22 April 2011 - 10:39 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

vb.net / asp.net what is the differance?

Posted 21 March 2011 - 01:28 PM

Hi I have been asked to make a contact manager in VB.net as a test for a job (I have a week). But I have no knowledge with vb.net or sql. so i am a noob but I think im right in saying .net is a framework but I cant find any tutorials on VB.net

But I found a contact manager tutorial in ASP.net which looks great.

I just want to know if there a difference or is VB.net a broad term for .net languages.

Do I need to know Visual basics then add .net to it?

lol i need some serious help on where to start. I have some knowledge of PHP and mysql and I know Html CSS and Javascript so im not a total noob.

Thanks

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: vb.net / asp.net what is the differance?

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: vb.net / asp.net what is the differance?

Posted 21 March 2011 - 01:38 PM

First off - not to be an ass but if this is a job do they know you do not have any prior .NET experience?

.NET is a broad term for the libraries used. ASP.NET is 'active server pages' aka web pages. They can be written in C# or VB. In general VB.NEt is coined for people who write desktop applications with VB (this can be done in C# as well).

What do you mean you cannot find any tutorials on VB.NET? What are you search terms? We have a ton here (above), but I know for a fact there is an insane number.

Are most going to take you from 'no experience' to something more mature than that, I don't know. I do know that MSDN (Microsoft Developer Network) has a great method help and what not.

So wait, you are going to do your job test by copying someone else's tutorial? That's a bad idea on so many levels.

Yes there is a difference between VB.NET, C#, and so forth.