7 Replies - 777 Views - Last Post: 22 March 2011 - 07:13 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Accessing swing components from refactored class

Posted 22 March 2011 - 04:18 AM

Hi there, I've recently finished a texas hold 'em poker game. Not being an experienced programmer I was delighted with the end result only to be told by my supervisor that it needed serious refactoring. My main class which essentially is my GUI had over 1600 lines of code ha.
So I've had to start refactoring the business side of things into their own classes etc. I've created a class called PokerHand which deals with the flow of a hand and extends my main class (PokerGame) my problem now is from Hand I call my method in PokerGame getPlayerBet which essentially just displays buttons for the user to make their decision but this now does not work I'm guessing cos the method is being called from a different class. (The method does actually get called just doesn't update the GUI).
I've had similar issue with this on other variables but was able to avoid it my making the variables static where needed. As my swing button components were built with the netbeans GUI builder my swing components are not editable to make them static (if indeed this would be the solution) so can anyone advise on a solution? I'm aware it may be a bad design flaw but all the refactoring alone at the mo is tedious enough with out a major overhaul, messy as it was originally it did work.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Accessing swing components from refactored class

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Accessing swing components from refactored class

Posted 22 March 2011 - 05:14 AM