6 Replies - 1312 Views - Last Post: 09 January 2002 - 08:26 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Rodimus  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 07-January 02

php help

Posted 08 January 2002 - 07:39 PM

I'm designing my site in php to make it easier for me to make changes to the site and not have to update every page.

right now i'm using the php include function and having some problems heres a little example of what i'm doing

<html>
<head>
<body>

<table> <? include("theurl.com/file.txt"); ?> </table>

<table> <Td width=20%> <table> <? include("theurl.com/file.txt"); ?></table></td> <td width=60%> The MEAT OF THE PAGE!</td> <td width=20%> <table> <? include("theurl.com/file.txt"); ?> </table> </body> </html>


as you can probably tell i'm using the 3 collums design

My problem is when i load the page i don't get 3 collums i get 1 first collum, below that the meat part and below that the right collum.

Anyone have a better way of doing this or show me how to fix it?

(fixed your code tags and turned of emoticons)


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: php help

#2 The Neoracle  Icon User is offline

  • Check, check, 1, 2.
  • member icon

Reputation: 21
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,097
  • Joined: 30-March 01

Re: php help

Posted 09 January 2002 - 06:14 PM

<table width="95%" border="0">
  <tr>
    <td><? include("theurl.com/file.txt"; ?></td>
    <td><? include("theurl.com/file.txt"; ?></td>
    <td><? include("theurl.com/file.txt"; ?></td>
  </tr>
</table>

I highly suggest not including just text files.  I would call the .inc files and set up your mime types to parse them, then you can have html, php, ssi or whatever in them.

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Rodimus  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 07-January 02

Re: php help

Posted 09 January 2002 - 06:31 PM

well i'm pretty new to php, so can you explain it a little more indepth?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 The Neoracle  Icon User is offline

  • Check, check, 1, 2.
  • member icon

Reputation: 21
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,097
  • Joined: 30-March 01

Re: php help

Posted 09 January 2002 - 07:34 PM

If you call your files .inc or .php, they will get processed as php files (if you server is set up like that. Check with whoever runs it).  Then you can put PHP or HTML or whatever in those files as well, so it's like another template.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Rodimus  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 07-January 02

Re: php help

Posted 09 January 2002 - 07:55 PM

okay i think i get it

so use .inc or .php instead of calling up the text files?

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 The Neoracle  Icon User is offline

  • Check, check, 1, 2.
  • member icon

Reputation: 21
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,097
  • Joined: 30-March 01

Re: php help

Posted 09 January 2002 - 08:01 PM

that's what I would do.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Rodimus  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 07-January 02

Re: php help

Posted 09 January 2002 - 08:26 PM

okay thanks
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1