What're the advantages of functional languages?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 6250 Views - Last Post: 02 April 2011 - 01:12 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What're the advantages of functional languages?

Posted 25 March 2011 - 11:21 AM

I'm a C#/Java/C++ programmer. I've been in these languages for a while, but I've always in the back of my mind had a nagging curiosity about functional languages. I have a few questions about them.

What's the general advantages of a functional language over a procedural one?

Functional languages seem strange to me, is there a performance hit due to their different structure (is it harder to translate to assembly/machine code)?

What are the 3 most common functional languages in industry, what applications are they used for, and what different advantages/disadvantages to the 3 have comparatively to each other?

I tried Prolog back in college, but I couldn't even get hello world to print, lol. I assume there was something I was totally missing about the language back then. Is Prolog a functional language, or a completely different beast?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 2
  • +

Replies To: What're the advantages of functional languages?

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What're the advantages of functional languages?

Posted 25 March 2011 - 12:38 PM

POPULAR

Functional programming languages are based around precisely what it sounds like: functions. Pure functions, to be exact. Pure functions are functions that do not have side effects. They take arguments and they return a value. They do not check the state or modify the state of variables. They do not print to the screen. They do not launch nuclear missiles at China. They are very dumb functions. They know nothing of the outside world. A call to a pure function can be replaced with the value it returns in a program and that program will run as normal.