Web design program with PHP support

• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 6353 Views - Last Post: 27 March 2011 - 02:01 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Web design program with PHP support

Posted 25 March 2011 - 06:40 PM

Hi. This is newbie question. I am pretty new in web programming but have long experience in C++. I want to start to create my web sites (business). I was thinking to use PHP (mainly to transfer data between web users using databases etc.) which I am familiar a bit + its easy. But I would like to have nice design as well. So which Web design program would be best for me? I was thinking WebPlus, but I am not sure if it supports well PHP. Or does it even need to support it?? Will I create first pages using WebPlus and then add php manually inside the code? Or how it works? I am a beginner so I dont know... can somebody give direction please. I would not like to spend more than 50.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Web design program with PHP support

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Web design program with PHP support

Posted 25 March 2011 - 06:59 PM

Go with the Eclipse IDE and the PHP plugin for coding. It's free, and superb. I use Eclipse for Java programming, and I like it for that. I'd use it for web development, but I already use Dreamweaver CS4.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 25 March 2011 - 07:00 PM

Hey.

There are plenty of free IDEs that you can try. If your main focus is web-design, then I'd suggest trying Aptana Studio. - If you are mainly coding in PHP, I'd suggest Netbeans or just Eclipse with PDT.

Then there is always Adobe Dreamweaver. It's more for designers than coders, kind of like Aptana.
However, it's not free (costs like $400), and it's vastly overrated in my opinion. -- I'm sure plenty of people will think differently though. -- Worth getting a trial version, to test it out, at least.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -