10 Replies - 8415 Views - Last Post: 30 March 2011 - 04:04 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

STL vector of objects - objects are deleted twice?

Posted 29 March 2011 - 01:56 PM

I have a question concerning the STL vector (it is my first try using it). I am really hoping someone can help me with out the need to post my code, but I would completely understand if this is not possible. But, please let me explain my problem...

I have made a templatized class (not sure if that is the correct way to say that). The class contains a static int count that is incremented each time a new object of that class is constructed and is decremented when an object is destroyed (that is when the destructor is used). I have made a vector that uses the .push_back method to create and store objects of the mentioned class in the vector. It seems to me that something very funny is happening when I create the objects this way. To try to figure this out, I have my constructor and destructor print me a message when they are used. From this I see that, as I expected, I am only creating one object (I only see my constructor message one time), but I see the destructor is used 2 times (making it seem like I have two objects even though it only looks like I have one). The major problem this is causing me is that my count is being decremented 2x for each object instead of only once (I assume there are other problems this is causing which I don't understand).

I am hoping someone can please let me know if what I explained is possible, why it is happening and how I can fix this problem.

Oh, in case it matters, the reason I tried using the vector was so it can be dynamic (unlike those arrays which you have decide how big they should be before compile time).

Thanks so much!!!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: STL vector of objects - objects are deleted twice?

#2 jimblumberg  Icon User is online

• member icon

• View blog