10 Replies - 2088 Views - Last Post: 06 April 2011 - 02:26 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Having trouble with the "sentinel method" of looping (While)

Posted 01 April 2011 - 10:05 PM

Hey everyone, noob here trying to get some help with his homework. I'm taking an introductory Java class, and currently learning about loops. In the lab assignment, I'm supposed to be using the "sentinel method". I was able to get this program to function properly when I was just using the "do...while method", but attempting to use the sentinel method along with the following code, I come across an error while the program is running.

Here's the code:
import java.io.*;
 import java.text.*;//for DecimalFormat class
 import java.util.Scanner;//allows for keyboard input
public class lab7
{
  public static void main(String[] args) throws Exception
  {
	DecimalFormat num = new DecimalFormat("$, ###.00");//creates format string named num for $

int accountNumber;//declare an int for account number
	int oldMeter;//declares an int for old meter reading
	int newMeter;//declares an int for new meter reading
	int kwhUsed;//declares an int for killowatts used per hour
	double billCharge;//declares a double for monthly bill amount
	String customerName;//declares a string for customer name
	String companyName;//declares a string for company name
	String errorMessage;//declares a string for an error message
	String answer;
	char answerChar;

Scanner inputDevice = new Scanner(System.in);//creates scanner object, connects it to the system.in object

companyName="McIntyre Electric Co.";//assigns a value to the string "companyName"
	errorMessage="ERROR: The difference between your old and new KMH meter reading should result in a positive number.";//assigns a value to the string "errorMessage"
	answer="";

System.out.print("Enter your account number: #");//prints message requesting input
	accountNumber = inputDevice.nextInt();//assigns input as a value to the variable