9 Replies - 700 Views - Last Post: 14 April 2011 - 07:09 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

A fresh start...

Posted 07 April 2011 - 07:40 AM

Hey everyone,

I self taught myself a LITTLE bit of PHP but now id like to go more in depth, buckle down and learn in to the best of my ability.

Ive purchased the following books to help me get started which should be here on Friday or Staurday.
PHP and MySQL Web Development, 4th Edition (Developer's Library Series)
MySQL (Developer's Library Series)

i really enjoy web development so i bought these 2 books to help maximize my skills at developing more dynamic web pages and applications.

My question is does anyone have any suggestions as to where i should start, (obviously follow tutorials and such in book) what i aspects i should dive into first, and tips for starting out?

Thanks a bunch! B)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: A fresh start...

• Changed Man With Different Priorities
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: A fresh start...

Posted 07 April 2011 - 02:17 PM

Always make sure you fully grasp the basics of a language before trying to build on it. I went through a book called PHP 5 Power Programming and it really pushed me in the right direction. Then after setting a good foundation I was able to follow examples and explanations of functions easily on PHP.NET.

Also you must always listen to experienced programmers because more times than not they're already tried what you're trying to do so they know the does and don'ts.

My last word of advice is Google will always be your best friend when it comes to finding tutorials on how to accomplish programming concepts. Oh and always try to code using techniques and methods a little bit more advance than your level so you can always push yourself to learn new things. Eventually you will see that this method best suits this situation and so forth. In other words never be satisfied where you're at...always strive for more.