7 Replies - 12823 Views - Last Post: 07 April 2011 - 07:07 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

c# populating a listbox with text AND a value

Posted 07 April 2011 - 03:33 PM

Hello everyone. This is my first post on your forum so I'm going to try to do everything correctly as to not incite the ire of the torchbearers. :bigsmile:

Let me begin by outlining my situation. I'm a student and I'm trying to improve my skills, so I'm in the process of teaching myself C#, using visual studio 2010. I haven't taken a course in school specific to C#, so everything I know I've pieced together from previous experience and searching through articles on the internet. I apologize ahead of time if this question and my solution seems somewhat juvenile; as I said I am a student and attempting to teach myself. I'm well aware this may be a plodding implementation.

I'm writing a windows forms application to serve as a fantasy football draft manager. The player data is contained in a table in SQL Server Compact Edition 3.5. What I'm trying to do is to allow a user to pick a player from a listbox to "draft" to their team. The listbox is populated with a SQL query based on the option the user selects (Show all players, show only QBs, etc). In a column in the table is a "PCode" that I planned on using to cross-reference between the user's team and the list of players, that is to say it would be the "key" that allows the program to reference which players are contained in a user's team object and which ones are still available. (I hope that makes sense)

So, here's some code. This is the code that executes upon form load, and all the other versions (show only QBs, show only RBs, etc.) are derived from this.

conn = new SqlCeConnection(connectString);

DataSet dsMasterTable = new DataSet();
            dsMasterTable = new DataSet();