1 Replies - 1137 Views - Last Post: 08 April 2011 - 07:12 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How To Access A Database Using SQL

Posted 07 April 2011 - 08:05 PM

Hello everybody, I am new to the database access so please forgive me for these question and if the seem basic.
I have been following some examples how to access a database using the sql commands.
However I do not quite understand firstly how to create a database "FreezerTemps", and what information I am required to add in the SqlConnection in order to get access to it.

I create the database using the Microsoft Visual C# 2010 Express, this is located in the directory of the code itself. I believe the Microsoft SQL Server 2008 is running as well but did not change anything there, as I am very new to this concept.

I attach the code I am using below.

Thank you for reading my question and code.

Kind regards,
Stelios.

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;
using System.Data.SqlClient;

namespace WebDatabase
{
    public partial class Form1 : Form
    {
        public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }

private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {

SqlConnection cs = new SqlConnection("Data Source=nemesisfc; Initial Catalog=FreezerTemps; Integrated Security=TRUE");
            cs.Open();
            MessageBox.Show(cs.State.ToString());
            cs.Close();

}
    }
}

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How To Access A Database Using SQL

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How To Access A Database Using SQL

Posted 08 April 2011 - 07:12 AM

Honestly you would do well reading up in a book. It's hard to explain the entirety of database concepts and db interactions in a thread post, but I'll try and sum up a few things.