2 Replies - 1467 Views - Last Post: 09 April 2011 - 01:07 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

cfparam and component question

Posted 08 April 2011 - 03:23 PM

I am working on a simple login for a site I am building. It works, I just want to make sure I have everything in order, especially the cfparams in the logIn.cfc. I did have them placed in the loginCheck page... I am very new to ColdFusion, but I am slowly learning. Here is the code:

LoginForm.cfm

<!---include login check to validate user--->
<cfif isDefined("form.user_name")>
	<cfinclude template="loginCheck.cfm">
</cfif>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
</head>
<body onload="document.loginForm.user_name.focus();">

<!---start login form--->
<cfform action="#cgi.SCRIPT_NAME#?#cgi.query_string#" name="loginForm" method="post">

<!---use html table for formatting--->
<table border="0">

<tr>
<th colspan="2" bgcolor="silver">Please Log In</th>
</tr>
<tr>
<th>Username:</th>
<td>
<!---text field for username--->
<cfinput type="text" name="user_name" size="20" value="" maxlength="100" required="true" message="please type your username first">
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<th>Password:</th>
<td>
<!---text field for username--->
<cfinput type="text" name="user_password" size="20" value="" maxlength="100" required="true" message="please type your password first">
<!---submit button--->
<input type="submit" value="Enter">
</td>
</tr>

</table>

</cfform>

</body>
</html>

loginCheck:
<!---make sure login and password is present--->
<cfinvoke component="logIn" method="basicLogin" returnvariable="get_user">

<!---if the user and password are correct--->
<cfif get_user.RecordCount eq 1>
<!---remember that status--->
<cfset session.auth = structNew()>