7 Replies - 801 Views - Last Post: 12 April 2011 - 12:31 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 WinkyCode  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: 23-February 11

How do I restart the Command Prompt?

Posted 11 April 2011 - 07:12 AM

Dear members of Dream in Code,

:genius:

I have searched for the problem of that javac does not work. I have found plenty of information about that problem. The problem I am having right now is how do I restart the Command Prompt? :helpsmilie:

I get this information about Java and Javac:
C:\>java -version
java version "1.6.0_24"
Java™ SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07)
Java HotSpot™ Client VM (build 19.1-b02, mixed mode, sharing)

C:\>javac -version
javac is not an internal command, external command,
program or batch file (freely translated from Swedish)

Kind regards
:neat: Winky

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How do I restart the Command Prompt?

#2 mi14chal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 81
  • View blog
  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: 11-December 10

Re: How do I restart the Command Prompt?

Posted 11 April 2011 - 07:27 AM

Did you set your path with directory where is found application javac?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 sakshamkum  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 19
  • View blog
  • Posts: 232
  • Joined: 09-June 09

Re: How do I restart the Command Prompt?

Posted 11 April 2011 - 07:45 AM

it does happen but usually one can change the path to do away with the error. you may not like the other solution as it seems to be a restriction to you that you store your code in the bin folder// the jdk
and then try to compile it but donot do it as it imposes a restriction on you to choose location of your file
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#4 WinkyCode  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: 23-February 11

Re: How do I restart the Command Prompt?

Posted 11 April 2011 - 07:48 AM

@ mi14chal, I cannot find javac anywhere in the program file for Java. I re-installed Java SE Development Kit 6u24 and still cannot find it. Have I done something wrong?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 mi14chal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 81
  • View blog
  • Posts: 202
  • Joined: 11-December 10

Re: How do I restart the Command Prompt?

Posted 11 April 2011 - 07:55 AM

You can find javac in folder: JDK/bin where JDK is path where you installed JDK.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#6 WinkyCode  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: 23-February 11

Re: How do I restart the Command Prompt?

Posted 11 April 2011 - 07:59 AM

View Postmi14chal, on 11 April 2011 - 07:55 AM, said:

You can find javac in folder: JDK/bin where JDK is path where you installed JDK.


:clap: I found it, I found it! mi14chal, thank you! :flowers:

Now I shall learn how to change path. :stuart:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 WinkyCode  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: 23-February 11

Re: How do I restart the Command Prompt?

Posted 12 April 2011 - 12:11 AM

View Postsakshamkum, on 11 April 2011 - 07:45 AM, said:

it does happen but usually one can change the path to do away with the error. you may not like the other solution as it seems to be a restriction to you that you store your code in the bin folder// the jdk
and then try to compile it but donot do it as it imposes a restriction on you to choose location of your file


@ sakshamkum, thank you for your response. After a bit of trixing with environment variables I manged to get javac to work. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a response. :bigsmile:
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 WinkyCode  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: 23-February 11

Re: How do I restart the Command Prompt?

Posted 12 April 2011 - 12:31 AM

Thank you all for your help. This is how I manged to get javac in the command prompt to work.

I am using Windows XP Pro SP3 Swedish language. Some translated word might be wrong but I hope you still can follow the path.

Stage 1.
Open Start menu, click on "This computer", click on your hard drive to enter the file system. Click on the file "program", click on "Java", click on the file "jdk1.6.0_24" (you might have an other version), open the file "bin". Check that javac is in the file. Then highlight the path. Look at the picture below. Now, copy it by pressing Ctrl+C.

Stage 2.
Open Start menu, right click on "This computer", chose "Properties", go to "Advanced", and down in the middle you will find "Environment variables". Click on it. Now, click on "path" and then click on "edit". See picture 2 for more details. Now you get another menu. Click on "End" so you get to the end of the path. Then add the following:
;C:\Program\Java\jdk1.6.0_24\bin

After that, press "ok" and now it should work.

Stage 3.
Open command prompt and enter "java -version". The output should be something like this:
C:\>java -version
java version "1.6.0_24"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 19.1-b02, mixed mode, sharing)


After that, input "javac -version". The output should be something like this:
C:\>javac -version
javac 1.6.0_24


Now, my last tip is to reboot the system. XP loves reboot. While the system boots up, go and grab yourself a treat.

I hope this help others.

Yours truly
Winky ^^

Attached image(s)

  • Attached Image
  • Attached Image

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1