3 Replies - 494 Views - Last Post: 15 April 2011 - 07:43 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Mathematical Knowledge Required prior to entering Computer Science

Posted 14 April 2011 - 07:18 PM

I am currently a College Student in a Systems Analysis (3 year course). I am about to finish my course and would like to enroll in Computer Science at a University near me. I have a deep interest in learning sorting algorithms, measuring time complexity, cryptography, systems programming and security research. I am bored by the typical, high-level knowledge; java and general algorithm knowledge. I have absolutely no problem learning and utilizing new programming languages, mentalities and syntaxes.

My only worry with regards to entering this course is what Mathematical knowledge is required prior to entering. I have done linear algebra but not quadratic equations; I have not done Calculus, nor have I done any Big-O notation. I plan on enrolling in 1 (one) year, so this gives me one year to prepare. I would like to know what I should be studying and reading to prepare. Books, worksheets, videos and any sort of advice or opinion(s) would be greatly appreciated. I have a great passion for efficient computing/programming and solving problems in the most efficient manner. I'm just trying to figure out if I would be in over my head entering Computer Science. Some people have said that I am to old, 22 this year, I would love to hear the opinions and advice of the DIC community.

Thanks To All In Advance,

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Mathematical Knowledge Required prior to entering Computer Science

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Mathematical Knowledge Required prior to entering Computer Science

Posted 14 April 2011 - 07:36 PM