11 Replies - 6258 Views - Last Post: 10 May 2011 - 10:12 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Architecture of a Web Application for users to submit files for me

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:09 PM

Hello,

I am a Windows applications dev. in VS-C# and SharePoint customized solutions. I am getting into ASP.net and I have a requirement for a Web Application. It should allow users to login (or allow me to create a login for users) and allow users to have their own "profile". In their profile the should be able to upload SEVERAL files and input standard info. Also, I would like for their "session" to be saved so that if a user logs out, when they come back, they see what they have uploaded so far and what is left.

I am not looking for someone to do my job. Only for a starting direction or for some high level guidance or an approach to the requirement. Suggestions on what is the best way to store the files that users upload so that I can retrieve them. What are the best software practices for this kind of Web Application, etc...

Any guidance is truly appreciated. I will code this myself and look into any info provided.

Thanks

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Architecture of a Web Application for users to submit files for me

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Architecture of a Web Application for users to submit files for me

Posted 15 April 2011 - 07:24 AM

Treat it like any windows form. A login page is pretty straight forward. Make it the first page. The tricky part is how to keep passing session variables, and preventing users from just going to a page all willy nilly. There's an interesting research for you.
http://msdn.microsof...y/ms178581.aspx

A common place to retrieve values for a profile? sounds like a database, right? You should have some experience with that - correct?

Read/write/update takes care of saving their info between visits.