12 Replies - 3605 Views - Last Post: 18 April 2011 - 09:00 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Create new datatable from existing datatable

Posted 15 April 2011 - 06:29 AM

Hi everyone. I am pulling data from an informix database and displaying it in a webpage. I need to do calculations to the data, and it would be much much easier to pull the raw data from the database, do my calculations in c#, then populate my gridview with the new data. I'm guessing I have to push the new data into a new datatable first? Does that make sense? I'll be doing mathematical functions on a lot of the data, that's why I'd like to do it after I've already gotten the raw data. Any suggestions? I'm very new to C# so please be gentle.. :online2long:

The code that creates the datatable is:

da1 = new OdbcDataAdapter(sql2, con);

da1.Fill(ds1, "DailySplit");

int results = 0;
            DataRow[] returnedRows;

returnedRows = ds1.Tables["DailySplit"].Select("row_date='" + myDte + "'");

results = returnedRows.Length;

if (results > 0)
            {
                DataRow dr1;

dr1 = returnedRows[0];

GridView1.AutoGenerateColumns = false;
                GridView1.DataSource = ds1.Tables["DailySplit"];
                GridView1.DataBind();

con.Close();
                con.Dispose();
            }
            else
            {
                con.Close();
                con.Dispose();
            }

Thanks!!

Dave

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Create new datatable from existing datatable

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Create new datatable from existing datatable

Posted 15 April 2011 - 06:57 AM

Rule #1: only get as much data from the database as you need.
Rule #2: make the database do as much of data manipulation as it can.

So, why not have a WHERE clause attached to sql2 that filters by row_data?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 15 April 2011 - 07:06 AM