1 Replies - 1077 Views - Last Post: 15 April 2011 - 01:36 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Problem adding Graphics to JPanel

Posted 15 April 2011 - 12:44 PM

Hi all. This is my first time using Graphics and I'm writing a program for a projectile. The user inputs a speed and an angle from the horizontal, and then clicks a button for the object to launch. There are no requirements for what to include or exclude in the code, but I am supposed to be able to explain what each line does (in theory though, as my teacher doesn't often actually require us to do so.) I plan to have a circular shape drawn with fillOval as my projectile, and two separate JPanels: one for the user's input and another where the projectile will be displayed and launched.
I'm having trouble adding Graphics to the JPanel. I've looked at lots of different examples online and tried to put them together. I omitted some parts of the code that don't seem that pertinent to me (the JPanel for data, alignment of components, border and background colors) but let me know if they could be causing the errors and I'll post the omitted parts. A description of my problem is beneath the code.

import java.awt.*;
import javax.swing.*;

public class Projectile extends JPanel
{
	public void paint(Graphics g1)
	{
		super.paint(g1);
		Graphics2D g=(Graphics2D) g1;
		g.setColor(Color.RED);
		g.fillOval(0, 0, 25, 25);
		g.drawLine(0, 0, 100, 100);
	}

public static void main (String [] args)
	{
		JPanel all=new JPanel();
		JPanel space=new JPanel();		
		all.add(space);

space.add(new Projectile());

JFrame frame=new JFrame("Projectile");
		frame.setResizable(false);
		frame.setSize (650, 500);
		frame.setContentPane(all);
		frame.setDefaultCloseOperation (JFrame.EXIT_ON_CLOSE);
		frame.setLocationRelativeTo(null);
		frame.setVisible(true);
	}
}