3 Replies - 721 Views - Last Post: 20 April 2011 - 10:01 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 RandomlyKnighted  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 117
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,363
  • Joined: 14-January 10

Extending A Class?

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:27 PM

Ok, so I was following this tutorial and I noticed it said:

public class TabbedPane extends JFrame



I'm working on my project in NetBeans. When I created my project NetBeans automatically wrote the beginning and ending of my class for me. Here is what it wrote:

public class GWAToolboxApp extends SingleFrameApplication



Do I need to put anything in my code for the JFrame extension?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Extending A Class?

#2 Luckless  Icon User is offline

  • </luck>
  • member icon

Reputation: 292
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,146
  • Joined: 31-August 09

Re: Extending A Class?

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:43 PM

Don't have netbeans involved with your GUI. Just create your own empty class and extend JFrame
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 macosxnerd101  Icon User is offline

  • Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon




Reputation: 10447
  • View blog
  • Posts: 38,690
  • Joined: 27-December 08

Re: Extending A Class?

Posted 20 April 2011 - 09:24 PM

To clarify, NetBeans is a fine IDE so long as you aren't using the Visual GUI Builder.

Honestly, I have no idea what specifically is going on in your code. Why extend the SingleFrameApplication class? What is going on?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 RandomlyKnighted  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 117
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,363
  • Joined: 14-January 10

Re: Extending A Class?

Posted 20 April 2011 - 10:01 PM

Ok, I deleted my project and started it over again. I didn't touch the GUI creator and created a new class file and all it gives me is:

/*
 * To change this template, choose Tools | Templates
 * and open the template in the editor.
 */
package gwatoolbox;

/**
 *
 * @author Tyler
 */
public class GWAToolbox {
    
}



So I guess I'm good to go now.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1