• (2 Pages)
  • +

28 Replies - 6617 Views - Last Post: 30 April 2011 - 06:05 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

[C#] Create Array on summing some variables

Posted 25 April 2011 - 01:12 PM

Hello Guys

I am new to C# and have searched a long time for a solution but can't find it... I hope you could help me.

I have many variables (inserted by the user of the program, when run) with different values. Now my program should be able to group them automatically into arrays by summing them together.

I'll explain better...
The sum of the variables in the arrays should be everytime <= 100 (hundred or smaller). Let's say I add var1 = 20, var2 = 75, var3 = 99, var4 = 35, var5 = 1, var6 = 2, var7 = 65..... and so on. Now the program creates automatically some arrays adding theese vars. For example "ARRAY1" contains var1, var2, var5, var6 (Sum = 98) || "ARRAY2" contains var3 (Sum = 99) || "ARRAY3" contains var4, var7 (Sum = 100).

I hope you understand what I would like to do. How can be done something like that?

Thank you in advance and sorry for my bad english.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: [C#] Create Array on summing some variables

#2 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: [C#] Create Array on summing some variables

Posted 25 April 2011 - 01:20 PM

You need to use a loop to go through all the elements of the array

int total = 0;
foreach (int yogi in myIntArray)
{
   total += yogi;
}

This would be covered in the first chapter about arrays, of any intro book.

Standard resources, references and suggestions for new programmers.

I am going to guess that you are trying to teach yourself C# without much guidance, a decent book or without knowing where to look. Sometimes just knowing where to look can make all the difference. Google is your friend.