What skills would impress you on a resume?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

26 Replies - 4875 Views - Last Post: 04 May 2011 - 05:46 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What skills would impress you on a resume?

Post icon  Posted 29 April 2011 - 11:16 AM

POPULAR

Alright so I'm a 2nd year CS student with the advantage of having been programming since around 12. I just landed my first internship which I will be starting shortly. So I started wondering what I could be doing to make my resume look more attractive to companies. The obvious answer is more work experience and thats #1 on my list of things to do.

So the question I pose to you is this what are things that when you see them on someone's resume that they would jump out at you and give you the impression that the person is someone you would like to interview. Preferably things that I could achieve within 2 years but long term goals are good too.

btw this is my first post here and I'm pretty sure this is the right area if not many apologizes.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 11
  • +

Replies To: What skills would impress you on a resume?

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What skills would impress you on a resume?

Posted 29 April 2011 - 12:16 PM

POPULAR

Things that would make me think this guy knows his stuff are:

• Knows at least three different languages, preferably not of the same type. For example: C#, Python and Clojure. Well rounded.
  • Has submitted a patch or some sort of code to a recognized open source project.
  • Has created an open source project that is used by other developers. (Massive points for this one)
  • Has a technical blog where he regularly posts.
  • Is in high standing with some online developer community.
  • Has worked with a team for more than a year. Being able to work with a team is priceless and much harder than most students realize.

The important thing is to be do more than what your school requires you to do.