7 Replies - 321 Views - Last Post: 02 May 2011 - 07:34 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Trying to Start Something New

Posted 01 May 2011 - 07:54 AM

I'm here because I'd like to learn just what in the world my husband is talking about. Whenever I ask him what he's up to, he'll give me alphabet soup. "Oh, I'm doing something with C#" (which my brain turns into a musical key) or "C++", "Python", etc, etc. He learns new languages every few months, then revisits them to keep up on his skills.

The problem is - I have no idea what he's talking about and I don't want to be "that wife" anymore. I'd like to have some sort of understanding about what he's doing.

So about myself - (besides my complete coding ignorance) - I'm a high school English teacher currently in my eighth year of teaching. I love puzzles, so I am hoping that I can use that in my new quest to learn about coding.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 2
  • +

Replies To: Trying to Start Something New

• The Leafiest of the Leif's
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Trying to Start Something New

Posted 01 May 2011 - 08:12 AM

View Postguintiger, on 01 May 2011 - 08:54 AM, said:

I'm here because I'd like to learn just what in the world my husband is talking about. Whenever I ask him what he's up to, he'll give me alphabet soup. "Oh, I'm doing something with C#" (which my brain turns into a musical key) or "C++", "Python", etc, etc. He learns new languages every few months, then revisits them to keep up on his skills.

The problem is - I have no idea what he's talking about and I don't want to be "that wife" anymore. I'd like to have some sort of understanding about what he's doing.

So about myself - (besides my complete coding ignorance) - I'm a high school English teacher currently in my eighth year of teaching. I love puzzles, so I am hoping that I can use that in my new quest to learn about coding.