3 Replies - 1105 Views - Last Post: 03 May 2011 - 07:05 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Best language choice based project.. suggestions?

Posted 03 May 2011 - 01:40 PM

Hey guys, Well as my bio might say I'm somewhat new to the programming world. Currently taking Java, C++, and VB.net classes.
So far I know the basics of each of these languages. Some more than others. Although i was forced to drop my c++ class due to schedule conflicts and not being able to study and keep up with this class based on the fact that I also work full time.

If anyone would help me out and suggest which route i should take on a project that a friend wants me to do for him. By route i mean What would be the best language to use on the project I'll be explaining in this post.

From the language what would be help with:
1. Structure (main concern)
2. Maintainability
3. Efficiency
4. Flexibility (in The future be able to use with other data)
5. Most important of all - that i would be able to program it.
6. And any additional suggestions.

// The Project
A friend of mine asked me to create a program that would be able to create a character sheet for his rpg games.
*** yes like D&D
Specifically for a certain RPG game. (Requiem something..)
It should be:
*** able to create random stats, attributes, Factions... etc...
*** and perhaps be able to print it out.

// My design and thoughts...
I started with VB and made a design which was quite long. Then i started to notice that this was going to be more complicated than I thought it would be. Sounds like a nice Challenge. I started thinking well, is VB the correct language to use for this project. Sure the design sounds easy enough. Then I thought more.

Well i think i might need a random number generator.
Also I need a way to store multiple strings and have each of those assigned to a numerical value which then i would be able to recall depending on which number i generate.