13 Replies - 624 Views - Last Post: 10 May 2011 - 03:15 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

which software/tools to use?

Posted 09 May 2011 - 04:47 AM

Hi all! :bigsmile:

i have to do a project, it will be a 3d world where agents are trying to do certain tasks on it.
Agents are not controlled by the user, the user can only put an agent in the world and see the progress of each agent...
that means that the agent's movement and further actions are defined by an algorithm.
Furthermore, there need to be stored information about the agent's progress...For example, every (X,Y,Z) on the world(Z will be the same, because the world will have the same Z for all the places)
must be stored(in a database maybe). When an agent meets an other agent(when they are next to each other) every place(X,Y,Z) that are marked as visited on the one player, will be marked as visited on the other player's database...

I am new to 3d programming, I don't know which software/tools to use...
I need to use a database in the program to store multiple information for each one of the agents, and this information in the databases can be changed many times until the agents finish their job.

Which software do you suggest? XNA or gamestudio or flash are good for creating a 3d world and a menu for the user, but are good when we have to use databases?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: which software/tools to use?

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: which software/tools to use?

Posted 09 May 2011 - 06:44 AM

Is this a school project? They should have provided you with the theory and recommendations on which tools to use. If not a school project, have you done any programming before?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 09 May 2011 - 06:46 AM