4 Replies - 697 Views - Last Post: 09 May 2011 - 01:17 PM

• Can grep dead trees!
  • member icon

• View blog

Marketing Names vs. Software Names

Posted 09 May 2011 - 11:42 AM

Once upon a time a piece of software or suit was generally given names, some enigmatic in meaning or reason, but a distict name: Word, Office, Draw, sea monkey, etc.

Now however it seems that organizations are rebranding products to rather generic and hard to remember things such as:

Content Services
Enhanced Management Portal
Document Repository Management Studio

These new names rarely make good acronyms (although they are inevitably better known in acronym form) and seem to change quite often. As a customer facing consultant I often get caught up in all of the verious names for products at my organization, and other venders are even more confusing. While it may be a little embarrasing not to know the latest marketing term of some internal piece of software, the problem with other vendors software can often make us look unknowable or untrustworthy since the customer may not know the vendor X used to name their product Y and think we don't know what we are talking about at all.

Anyway I was wondering if anyone knew why companies are going away from giving a piece of software a solid name. I figure it has something to do with copywrites or trademarks etc. but that does not seem to make sense since it is easier to defend the name "AppStore" then "Application Acquisition Market"

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Marketing Names vs. Software Names

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Marketing Names vs. Software Names

Posted 09 May 2011 - 12:06 PM

After a while
Word 2001
Word 2003
Word 2005
Word 2007
All sound alike and people begin to wonder if there really is a difference justifying the expense of purchase - which often there isn't.