1 Replies - 701 Views - Last Post: 09 May 2011 - 12:53 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

SQL Queries

Posted 09 May 2011 - 12:19 PM

Hello All! Complete newbie here so please bear with me and my newbie-ish questions!

I am in the process of setting up a website that involves people being able to sign up for membership as well as being able to perform a variety of searches and it is these searches amongst other things that I need a bit of help understanding. Just so you all know, I have tried to find the information I need via Google searches but I am not having much luck because to be honest, i'm not even sure what it is I need to look for. I'm not asking for any of you to spoon-feed my the answers but if somebody could at least point me in the right direction and let me know if I have misunderstood anything, I would be massively grateful:

1.) I understand that when you manually create an SQL query, you define the database name, table name, parameters etc. yourself but what is the method used when the queries are going to be created by members of the website? For example, when a user is presented with a search form with a number of different options to choose from, such as the "Advanced Search" feature used on Ebay, what sort of code is in place to allow them to determine a specific set of parameters to be searched for in the query? Presumably, their is a less labor-intensive way of making this possible than creating a separate query for every single possible combination of options that might be chosen by the user..?