10 Replies - 6541 Views - Last Post: 23 May 2011 - 11:46 PM Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Question about creating a game in Lua.

Posted 16 May 2011 - 12:46 PM

Just a few questions I am just a project manager for a company, I have to decide what coding language to use, The game is a class mmorpg a bit like the game Fiesta Online, in the features wise I would like to know about Lau in this department if it is very limited in game design or if it has features and mind and can be very useful, how often does Lau encounter errors and make things difficult. If you think Lau isn't a good language what would you recommend? Game development wise. We also are looking for good security in the coding in which their will be less hackers.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Question about creating a game in Lua.

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: Question about creating a game in Lua.

Posted 16 May 2011 - 12:54 PM

Do you mean Lua?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 May 2011 - 01:08 PM

Yes I do mean Lua I just get a little mixed up sometimes.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 16 May 2011 - 02:50 PM

Lua is the recommended language for scripting behind-the-scenes for any game as it is a lightweight (small, but powerful) language and has an easy-to-use API to communicate between a Lua script and C/C++ code.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 16 May 2011 - 03:04 PM

To add you that heyoman1 pointed out, I doubt Lua has the tools support for complete browser-based games. Maybe someone more familiar with browser technologies could correct me on that score.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 May 2011 - 04:38 PM