9 Replies - 990 Views - Last Post: 17 May 2011 - 05:25 PM

• Saucy!
  • member icon

• View blog

Finding Code Which Uses Best Practices

Posted 17 May 2011 - 08:09 AM

Hi All,

So, it's time for me to seek help from the REAL gurus who populate this forum.

I am now out there looking for a job, and it's become readily apparent that of current skill set (such as it is), C# is currently the most desirable. Linux development seems to have moved in the direction of Java (where I have no background), rather than the C/C++ I've been using for years.

Unfortunately, my C# experience has come pretty much entirely by my own self-teaching; I've not had much in the way of good code from which to learn best practices. I got tagged as "the Windows guy" strictly on the basis of coming into my previous job having written a simple MFC client to allow the QA department to test the SNMP implementation I created on the Unix server on which I spent the majority of my time working. Consequently, while most of my work has been on Linux, whenever it came up that "we need an application for Windows to interface with our Linux system", I got the job and I set about figuring out how to best do that.

So I'm going to focus on boning up on hardcore C# and the associated .NET technologies such as WCF, ASP.NET (not happy about that...I'm really a closer-to-the-metal guy there) and ADO.NET/Entity Framework, etc, as well as any others that might be helpful.

Does anyone have any suggestions on where I can find good, intermediate-advanced code using these technologies which employs what you consider to be the current best practices? Maybe you've worked with some publicly available code that fits that mold and can point me to it. Is CodePlex the place to look for that?

Thanks, I really appreciate it!

-Jack

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Finding Code Which Uses Best Practices

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Finding Code Which Uses Best Practices