3 Replies - 9330 Views - Last Post: 23 May 2011 - 05:47 PM Rate Topic: -----

• I make this look good
  • member icon

• View blog

Coldfusion and Twitter

Post icon  Posted 18 May 2011 - 12:43 PM

I didn't do much original to warrent this post...except spend parts of the past 2 weeks trying to come up with a solution for a CF powered site to properly interact with Twitter. By which I mean users to my site authorize our application for my site that then allows us to post Tweets for them (when they ask us to), get certain Twitter stats for their accounts, allows them a one-touch follow process per other users of my site, etc.

I started (as many CFers do) by discovering Twitter4J but immediately discovered two important things:

• I'm a CF developer and not a Java developer
  • I have this fetish wherein I like things to work...or at least be properly documented in case they don't.

In either event, this meant that Twitter4J just wasn't for me. From having to have access to the web server for the site to drop in a .jar file to realizing most of the way through my project that the sparse documentation I was in possession of was stale by a factor of two full point releases and that object methods the examples used no longer existed...I was pretty much launched on a quest to find some other way to navigate the maddening complexity that is Twitter's OAuth powered API.