5 Replies - 5730 Views - Last Post: 19 May 2011 - 06:51 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 AmuletOfNight  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 153
  • Joined: 23-July 09

Skinning border

Posted 18 May 2011 - 03:06 PM

So I want to make my application look fancy, so I made a skin for it. But windows isn't letting me set it properly. Look how it turns out:

What its supposed to look like:
Posted Image

What I get instead (when running the app)
Posted Image
It also loses the transparency in the original image

The image is set as the background image of the form.

This post has been edited by AmuletOfNight: 18 May 2011 - 03:27 PM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Skinning border

#2 smohd  Icon User is offline

  • Critical Section
  • member icon


Reputation: 1817
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,625
  • Joined: 14-March 10

Re: Skinning border

Posted 18 May 2011 - 03:28 PM

How about if you remove borders of the form?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 AmuletOfNight  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 153
  • Joined: 23-July 09

Re: Skinning border

Posted 18 May 2011 - 04:25 PM

View Postsmohd, on 18 May 2011 - 06:28 PM, said:

How about if you remove borders of the form?

It's already set to borderless. I can't get RID of the borders that remain for some reason. Even if I use the transparency key.

This post has been edited by AmuletOfNight: 18 May 2011 - 04:27 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 _HAWK_  Icon User is offline

  • Master(Of Foo)
  • member icon

Reputation: 1043
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,057
  • Joined: 02-July 08

Re: Skinning border

Posted 18 May 2011 - 04:55 PM

Form's properties:

Controlbox = False
FormBorderStyle = None
BackColor = the same as transparency key


Then draw the image in the form's paint event. Viola!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 AmuletOfNight  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 153
  • Joined: 23-July 09

Re: Skinning border

Posted 19 May 2011 - 06:27 AM

I already have it set up like that. But the border still shows. Its odd because the border is not semi-opaque but not completely invisible. If I set the background color to white, and the trans key to white and then set the background image, it draws, but the border is semi-erased. There are a lot of stray pixels that are white that were not converted to transparent.

This post has been edited by AmuletOfNight: 19 May 2011 - 06:33 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8938
  • View blog
  • Posts: 33,504
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Skinning border

Posted 19 May 2011 - 06:51 AM

There tends to be a quite a bit of moving parts when making a border like that. First - what format did you save it in? I find PNG works the best. Second - each control has to have *some* border, right? Make your image with ten or so pixels of transparency beyond the edge of your fade out. Third - make sure your control is sized a bit larger than your image and tweak from there.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1