7 Replies - 916 Views - Last Post: 27 May 2011 - 10:12 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

IT solution for small company

Posted 26 May 2011 - 03:47 PM

Hey everyone. I'm a programmer for a small dev company, that is growing rapidly. Our IT infrastructure is not so great.
What we need is a shared calendar, shared contacts, task list, preferably tied in with a CRM.

We have a mix of PC's and Macs. We'd prefer free\open source, but if we need to pay, we need to pay.

I really like MS products for this sort of thing, but because our budget and mix of PC's and Macs, MS products may not be the best solution. Maybe something in the cloud?

Thoughts, ideas?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: IT solution for small company

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: IT solution for small company

Posted 26 May 2011 - 06:11 PM

What are your servers like? MS Sharepoint is a great product and will handle all you need.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Great::Southern::Land
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 May 2011 - 02:47 AM

Perhaps have a look at Novel Groupwise

http://www.novell.co...ucts/groupwise/

There are also clients for mac, win, linux and mobile
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 27 May 2011 - 05:28 AM

You might be better off contracting someone to take care of it for you, there are thousands of companies out there that specialize in doing just that. There will be some up front expense of course, but once you have your infrastructure in place maintenance won't cost much, and in the long run it's more economical to have IT people do the IT stuff than waste developer's time with it, every hour you spend screwing with servers and infrastructure software is an hour that you're not producing any saleable product.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Curtis Rutland  Icon User is online

• (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 May 2011 - 08:27 AM