10 Replies - 6956 Views - Last Post: 31 May 2011 - 02:47 PM

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Computer Programming Concepts

Posted 30 May 2011 - 06:40 PM

Hey guys, I've been doing computer programming for two years now, and I don't think that I've learned about the concepts of programming. So, I come here today, to ask you what are the concepts? What should I know about programming in general. Like algorithms, OOP. How could I learn this? If you guys got any books or tutorials that would be helpful. I'm sorry if my question sounds blatant. :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 3
  • +

Replies To: Computer Programming Concepts

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Computer Programming Concepts

Posted 30 May 2011 - 06:49 PM

My thread Getting Better at Programming Java discusses a lot of these concepts. Most of these apply to other languages as well. If you are comfortable with basic OOP, design patterns and data structures are two obvious next steps, with the data structures being more involved, imo.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:22 PM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 30 May 2011 - 09:49 PM, said:

My thread Getting Better at Programming Java discusses a lot of these concepts. Most of these apply to other languages as well. If you are comfortable with basic OOP, design patterns and data structures are two obvious next steps, with the data structures being more involved, imo.

Thanks. I'll bookmark that thread and take a look at it tomorrow, when I'm not as tired.

Looks like I'm part of stage 2 and 3 with PHP. Python I'm at like stage 1. I'll research items on your list I don't know about. :)

Is it a bad thing that I know of only two data types, string and integer? lol

This post has been edited by EnvXOwner: 31 May 2011 - 02:23 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -