14 Replies - 6622 Views - Last Post: 01 June 2011 - 08:40 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

How much report writing is there in industry?

Posted 31 May 2011 - 02:12 AM

Hi guys. I'm in my final year of university, doing a major project like most universities require. I'm the lead developer (read: only real programmer) for our team of four (originally five, sad face) and I've found I'm doing more report writing than programming, which I wouldn't have expected. Although I'm the lead developer, I've been tasked with doing run-downs of the client, team members and their roles, so on and so forth, and I'm wondering if this is normal for a run-of-the-mill programmer?

There have been a few instances where I've even functioned as the tester and quality assurance manager for our project, because the regular guy had too much else going on. I was fine with taking the role, but I consider this just plain wrong, because a programmer shouldn't really test their own code.

So, yeah, pretty straight forward. How much report writing should I expect in industry?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How much report writing is there in industry?

#2 Guest_machinexider*

Re: How much report writing is there in industry?

Posted 31 May 2011 - 02:28 AM

I argue a programmer should test his own code as much as he can for smaller programs like yours.After that he can give the program to other project member for further testing.

But when the program gets bigger and bigger, a separate testing team may be required

This post has been edited by machinexider: 31 May 2011 - 02:28 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 31 May 2011 - 02:40 AM

Oh, by all means do I think a programmer should test his own code, and I do test my own code. But what do you consider a small project? Our project is an iPhone application, Android application, and a website, all of which function as a sort of social network, with quite a lot of functionality.