6 Replies - 712 Views - Last Post: 31 May 2011 - 08:45 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

CS courses?

Posted 31 May 2011 - 06:48 AM

I was wondering if anyone here as attended, or has an aspiration to attend a Computer Science course in University? I just wanted to know what the standards were like and what you've got out of it. I understand it's further learning and has obvious benefits, but is it necessary? I'm currently at GCSE level and I found out I might not be able to take Mathematics, which is needed to attend pretty much any CS University course. But I don't understand how it really works in the work environment. I'm going to be programming throughout myself, but when I want to go in for a job interview, will I necessarily need CS credentials saying I have a masters degree or major? Or will they accept the fact that you can be self taught? I always thought University was just further mastering your skills and a way to prove your skills -- like A-levels. I was wondering if a CS course if advised, or can I get away with not attending a University course about CS. I currently don't understand the University scene, but I was hoping I could get some more insight from experienced programmers.

Also, is there anyway I could get Maths A-levels outside of school? Because I really need one. But hopefully my 6th form lets me take Mathematics :<

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: CS courses?

• Self-Trained Economist
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: CS courses?

Posted 31 May 2011 - 07:02 AM