5 Replies - 1485 Views - Last Post: 03 June 2011 - 10:32 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

OS S.O.S. - What Should I Do with My Computer?

Posted 02 June 2011 - 05:13 PM

Hey, D.I.C! ZeroPhoenyx here with a big question for all you computer-savvy geeks and gals.

As of recently, I've been using my computer more often (for various reasons; mainly because I'm out of school now), and it seems like the more I use the silly thing, the more frustrated I get. I'm not the most organized individual, but when it comes to my computer, I want to do things my way. That being said, my computer's setup seems to be against this philosophy, and I'm fed up. So I was wondering... is it time I started playing for a different team?

Now, before your minds hit the gutter, allow me to clarify: I'm talking about my OS. I've always been a little curious about Linux and its various advantages/disadvantages, although my deep-seated fear of irreversible damages and/or unreliability has kept me from actively pursuing my dreams. I'm also afraid of compatibility issues, or sub-par knockoffs of tried-and-true programs (most notably Microsoft Office). And system security issues are... daunting. In short, I'm faced with two equally important yet conflicting issues: I can't stand what I've got now, but I don't want to make my problem worse.

So, I've come to you, D.I.C, for your guidance in this crisis. Ultimately, it all boils down to this question:

What OS is best for ME?

Of course, you should probably know a few things about me and what my computing interests are before you suggest anything, so I've put together a quick checklist of sorts. It includes my computer's information, some of my personal preferences, and things I want to be able to do with my OS.

Spoiler