2 Replies - 9115 Views - Last Post: 01 February 2007 - 03:52 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to create database, insert data & call data on website

Post icon  Posted 01 February 2007 - 01:56 AM

Hi, I'm a newbie to using MySQL and I'd like to learn more about it. I currently run a site that offers free avatars.

For the duration of my site running, I've discovered that just uploading avatars using FTP to a directory on my server and then linking them from my web page

Eg: http://MY-SITE.net/a...l_fantasy03.gif

can be quite a hassle expecially when it comes to organising, creating new folders, choosing filenames and ending up with links that are very long (imagine the above link stored within 6 folders/directories). It can be a real pain.

I've noticed that many sites have been creating databases and then inserting their data into them and then "calling" them up on thir web paegs. This has made it more convenient (from what I can see) to manage their data/images etc.

I'd like learn how to do just that, to make it more easier for me to organise avatars on my site.

However, I'm a Newbie at this and I mightn't of explained my situation properly, I'm sorry if I've confused some people.

In plain, I'd like to learn to:

- Create a database
- Insert data (images)
- Call them/get them (the data) to show up on my web page (my web pages are in PHP...eg: "index.php")

I'm sorry if I sound demanding, but believe me, I'm quite desperate as I've been staring at PHP & MySQL tutorials for a long time, yet none them seem to help at all (or there have been no tutorials that show what I'm looking for). I'm hoping that finally someone will be able to help me.

Thank You for taking time to read this. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. :)

If there's something I didn't explain properly please tell me.

This post has been edited by damu_child: 01 February 2007 - 01:57 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +