Looking for a good C++ compiler

• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 2183 Views - Last Post: 06 June 2011 - 10:35 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Looking for a good C++ compiler

Posted 03 June 2011 - 03:05 PM

Recent, I graduated from the school I was attending, while there I was using Visual Studio to code with C++. There I had access to programs from Microsoft through website called DreamSpark, since graduating I have lost access to the program and now I no longer have a compiler, I was looking to get a free compiler that is almost as good as that. What would be my next best option for me?

also, I'm running Windows XP.

This post has been edited by Liinx: 03 June 2011 - 03:06 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: Looking for a good C++ compiler

#2 BetaWar  Icon User is online

• #include "soul.h"
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Looking for a good C++ compiler

Posted 03 June 2011 - 03:09 PM

Well that is actually a full IDE (integrated development environment), and I agree that it is pretty nice. If you are just looking for a compiler I would suggest getting g++, it is a linux style C/C++ compiler with a port for windows (there is a version for Mac as well).

If you want to stick with an IDE then I would suggest looking at Visual Studios Express (free) or Netbeans (it isn't as nice as Visual Studios, but also not as bad as others out there - my opinion).

Hope that helps.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

• Saucy!
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 03 June 2011 - 03:11 PM

See also the C++ FAQs topic which is pinned at the top of the page.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 03 June 2011 - 03:14 PM

Thanks for the quick reply bud. I'll look into the g++ and see if thats what I'm looking for. Thank you.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 03 June 2011 - 03:27 PM