PHP Nuke: Sections error

Any ideas anyone??

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

25 Replies - 3492 Views - Last Post: 25 August 2001 - 02:36 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Lord Manimal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 413
  • Joined: 07-April 01

PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 01 August 2001 - 01:09 PM

I'm getting a horrible error in my Sections section of my php nuke site, and I can't for the life of me, figure out what it is. It's not an error message, but it crunches the article all the way to the right, and duplicates a sidebar over and over and over again in the middle of the page... You can see the error here: http://lanmanimal.com

Any Php pro's gonna help me out?

--LM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: PHP Nuke: Sections error

#2 nighthawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,269
  • Joined: 11-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 03 August 2001 - 11:10 PM

poor Lord Manimal, I'd have to say, nope, it doesn't look like anyone is going to help you out.  It's a shame, some of these posts just don't get seen...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1877
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,284
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 03 August 2001 - 11:44 PM

I'm sure he'll get help, if not from here, from the actual makers of the script... it's tough to troubleshoot scripts that we don't use...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 nighthawk  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,269
  • Joined: 11-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 04 August 2001 - 12:43 PM

surely there has to be a php user on the dream.in.code...if not we need to find someone...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Lord Manimal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 413
  • Joined: 07-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 04 August 2001 - 03:03 PM

Yeah, no doubt. We need to go in search of a person that's willing to be a "php helpdesk"..... Sigh, problem still not fixed. I got the guestbook up and working, BUT only on the users sidebar, not on the topbar. I haven't a clue as to what to do now. All my modules are pointing to the wrong place, and I don't know enough about php to alter where they point.

It's nothing like html where you can just copy and paste the proper url in. There's file after embedded file, after file after file, endlessly it seems! I can't even progress very much on the site development until the sections page is cleared up, and until I get someone to show me the ONE mistake that I'm making, and how to correct it.

Any ideas anyone?

--LM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 tsmoke  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: 20-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 04 August 2001 - 05:54 PM

Well, I have clicked on several links within your site and have not found what you are looking for. Then again it could just be my browser. But before I go any further, let me get some time to go in and check it out with Winblows. I am using Kongueror web browser with KDE. I will respond on what I get with Winblows Exploder in a short while.

In the meantime, could you maybe take a screen shot of what you are getting when you load that particular section. I am not familiar with PHPNuke, but I am with PHP and may be able to assist in that area

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 tsmoke  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: 20-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 04 August 2001 - 06:48 PM

I am now seeing your problem. I guess that I didn't go far enough into the Sections section before.

I know that viewing the source on a PHP parsed page will only show the HTML. However, It looks like the following line is missing the {td} tag for the left cell of your table.

<tr><td align="center"> &nbsp;&nbsp; <a href="sections.php?op=viewarticle&amp;artid=4&amp;page=2">Next Page (2/2)</a> <a href="sections.php?op=viewarticle&artid=4&page=2"><img src="images/download/right.gif" border="0" alt="Next Page"></a>[ <a href="sections.php?op=listarticles&amp;secid=3">Back to Testing!!</a> | <a href="sections.php">Sections Index</a> ]  <TD width="11" background="themes/PhpInfo/images/table/dc.gif"></TD>
    </TR>

This section of code has only 2 columns present, whereas each of the other rows in your table has 3 columns. I would say that the problem is in the file that is holding the HTML for this table. And as I said before, I haven't used PHP Nuke but if it is like the majority of web building, then this is something that you have typed into a text field, a configuration file, or a template tat is parsed by PHP.

I hope that this has been a little help to you.

tsmoke

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Lord Manimal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 413
  • Joined: 07-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 06 August 2001 - 05:41 AM

Hey, thanks for the help! Now that I analyze the viewable html, you're right... Putting it together in my head though, it shouldn't multiply the left border over and over like that, UNLESS maybe the script is missing a tag.... Problem with php is all the embedded files that point to other files, that point to others, and none of it is straightforward. I'm scratching my head about where to even make the mods to try and add the 3rd table. Anyone wanna have a peek into the root directory to work some magic for me? Thanks again tsmoke!

--LM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 tsmoke  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: 20-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 06 August 2001 - 03:31 PM

I may be able to give you a hand with finding where to make the mods. I wouldn't necessarily need to have access to your web server. If you would like to instead, you could zip up those files and email them to me at tsmoke@temperedsmoke.com and I would be more than happy to assist you in finding and modifying that part of your web site.

tsmoke

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Lord Manimal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 413
  • Joined: 07-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 10 August 2001 - 06:38 AM

Actually, what I'll do is make you a "restricted" admin, so you can ftp into that section of the site. I'll e-mail you with your account details. Thanks for the offer of assistance. Isn't this sort of thing right up the Neoracles alley, or Objekts?!! Why don't you two respond? No love for a Manimal I tellz ya.... Only tsmoke cares about an innocent widdle Manimal....
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 Lord Manimal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 413
  • Joined: 07-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 10 August 2001 - 05:05 PM

*bump* Where the #### is Object and Neo?! Help me out here boys!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 Lord Manimal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 413
  • Joined: 07-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 12 August 2001 - 09:49 AM

Well, the file that needs modded is theme.php inside of the themes directory... /themes/phpinfo/theme.php if you want to play with it. I know the problem is with that theme, but it's the one I want to use!!!! I will not give up!!!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 The Neoracle  Icon User is offline

  • Check, check, 1, 2.
  • member icon

Reputation: 21
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,097
  • Joined: 30-March 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 12 August 2001 - 11:44 AM

Hey, Well, I would help you out, but nothing is wrong in my browser. Mac IE5. Everything works just fine. What it sounds like though is that you have a loop that is not quiting when it is supposed to. That's why it keeps making the same thing over and over. Are you sure it's not fixed? I didn't know PHP did anything that was browser dependent.  I guess I was wrong. Oh well. Peace,
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 tsmoke  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: 20-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 12 August 2001 - 08:47 PM

Neoracle, the problem that he is having is shown on the following page.
http://lanmanimal.co...view...;artid=4

What appears to be happening is that there is a background image put into a cell that is tiling because of a missing column in one of the rows on that page.

Manimal, did you get the email I sent earlier?

tsmoke

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 Lord Manimal  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 413
  • Joined: 07-April 01

Re: PHP Nuke: Sections error

Posted 13 August 2001 - 09:52 PM

Yeah, you've hit it on the head t-smoke, but my problem is identifying which part of the themes.php is corrupted. LOL html is one thing, but if you misplace a comma with php, your entire site will fall down around your ears.

You see the problem now neoracle?

Oh, and yeah, I sent you the themes.php this afternoon, so you should have it. Thanks again!

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2