2 Replies - 2706 Views - Last Post: 13 June 2011 - 07:40 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Problem copying files from pc to USB drive showing Progress

Posted 07 June 2011 - 08:26 AM

I am very new to programming and I am having trouble getting my code to work properly.

I am trying to write what I thought was a simple program, but I everything I have tried has not worked properly.

Here is what I am trying to do...

I am creating a utility that will take installation and database files from one computer and copy those files to a flash drive so the flash drive will have the new version. The flash drives in question would either have one of two previous versions of the software on it or it will be blank. I decided to do this in two steps.

First I check the computer for the new database and the flash drive for the old ones. I do this with the following code.

Private Sub VerifyButton_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles VerifyButton.Click
        VerifyButton.Enabled = False
        VerifyButton.Visible = False
        If System.IO.File.Exists(pcdatabase) = False Then
            MainLabel.Text = "This computer does not contain the files need to update this Flash Drive to the latest installation software."
            CloseButton.Enabled = False
            CloseButton.Visible = False
            FinishButton.Visible = True
            FinishButton.Enabled = True
        ElseIf System.IO.File.Exists(threedatabase) And System.IO.File.Exists(pcdatabase) Then
            MainLabel.Text = "Your Flash drive currently contains the " & (System.IO.Path.GetFileNameWithoutExtension(threedatabase)) & "database. This computer contains the" & (System.IO.Path.GetFileNameWithoutExtension(pcdatabase)) & "database. Press start to copy the new data to your flass Drive."
            CreateButton.Visible = True
            CreateButton.Enabled = True