C++ newbie here!!!!!!

i have no idea......

• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 2341 Views - Last Post: 08 February 2002 - 01:17 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: C++ newbie here!!!!!!

Posted 04 January 2002 - 12:30 PM

now im angry, i followed the link to planet source code and downloaded a bunch of C++ 3d apps, i open the main .cpp file and try to compile, however with every one of them, it cant find a library or file even when its in the folder, and similar problems, i dont understand where i get all these libaries from, how to install them, and why these developers think i have all this stuff. i even have direct x 7 sdk installed. im running visual c++ 6.thanks
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• nooneenooneenooonee
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 04 January 2002 - 03:09 PM

Check the library paths of the project your working on and make sure you have the librarys you downloaded specified there.

Now for some C# stuff. C sharp is somewhat like Java only the whole .net thing is mush more. The way .net works is simalar to Java by compiling source code into bytecode that needs an interpreter to run it. However the way that .NET was developed was so that the cbytecode is language independent. .NET compilers weather they be C#, VB.NET or C++.NET all output the same bytecode. The interpreter doesn't care what language the code was written in so it makes for a very robust platform that supports many languages. A unix port is very possable if Microsoft decides to go that direction all they would have to do is port the interpreter.

C++ will still be alive in .NET and I don't think that it will ever go away in lau of C#. Althought writing c++.net code is much different than writing windows apps with winAPI or MFC. C# takes most of its functionality from C++ so converting over is rather simple if you know c++ well.

Cheers Sam :)

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 04 January 2002 - 09:33 PM